30 September 2021

HSBC Bank Australia welcomes Gail Pemberton AO as Non-Executive Director

HSBC Bank Australia has today announced the appointment of Gail Pemberton AO as an Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from 28 October 2021.

Media enquiries:

Alison Kahler
M: +61 403 964 750
E-mail: alison.kahler@hsbc.com.au

Rebecca Searl
M: +61 481 060 837
E-mail: rebecca.searl@hsbc.com.au

She currently serves on the Boards of MNF, Sydney Metro, and Land Services WA, as well as Chair of Prospa (ASX:PGL) and Eclipx (ASX:EXC). Prior to this, Ms Pemberton served in a variety of capacities on the Boards of over fifteen companies, including QIC and PayPal Australia. Ms Pemberton is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Grant King, Chairman of the Board of HSBC Bank Australia, said: “Gail’s expertise, relationships and insight into Australia’s financial services sector is an invaluable addition to our Board as we strengthen our position as a leading international bank in Australia.”

Before transitioning to a Non-Executive Director career in 2008, Ms Pemberton was Chief Information Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Fund Services at Macquarie Bank, as well as Chief Operating Officer UK, CEO and Managing Director of Australia and New Zealand at BNP Paribas Securities Services.

HSBC Bank Australia welcomes Gail Pemberton AO as Non-Executive Director

Kaber Mclean, Chief Executive Officer for HSBC Bank Australia, said: “We’re looking forward to welcoming a director of Gail’s stature and experience to the Board.”

In 2018, Ms Pemberton was awarded the Order of Australia (AO) in the Australia Day Honours List for distinguished service to the finance and banking industry, particularly for her work as an advocate for technology, and a mentor to women.  

The Board of HSBC Bank Australia is now comprised of:

  • Grant King: Independent Non-Executive Director and Chairman
  • Carol Austin: Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Gail Pemberton AO: Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Geoff Wilson: Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Jann Skinner: Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Kenneth Ng: Independent Non-Executive Director
  • Kaber Mclean: Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, HSBC Bank Australia
  • Surendra Rosha: Non-Executive Director, Co-Chief Executive Officer, Asia-Pacific, HSBC


In Australia, the HSBC Group offers an extensive range of financial services through a network of 45 branches and offices. These services include retail and commercial banking, trade finance, treasury and financial markets, payments and cash management and securities custody. Principal HSBC Group members operating in Australia include HSBC Bank Australia Limited (ABN 48 006 434 162 AFSL/Australian Credit Licence 232595) and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (ABN 65 117 925 970 and AFSL 301737).